top of page

Adoptee Spotlight: Keri Wenhua Busby, 2021 Year in Review

Northern Ireland, United Kingdom

Originally published August 17, 2021.

My Chinese name given to me by the orphanage is Fu Wenhua. I was called "Wenhua," after the policeman who found me. I am 20 years old, and I live in Northern Ireland, in the United Kingdom. I study French and Spanish at Queen’s University in Belfast. Growing up, I had a lovely childhood. My family and I are very close; I have an older brother and sister. There is a large age difference between my older siblings and myself, (17 and 19 years), but we get on very well.


When I was a young child, I had rather bad behavioral problems. For example, I would have quite severe tantrums and crying outbursts, all of which I now believe were as a result of trying to come to terms with the 13 months I had lost, abandoned in an orphanage. As I’ve matured, I’ve come to realize how fortunate I am. While it's easy to harbor feelings of bitterness and resentment for the past, I’ve learned to cherish my blessings and appreciate those I have around me.


It hasn’t been an easy journey, but I wouldn’t change it for the world. I am so grateful for both my birth parents and my adoptive parents. (The term “adoptive parents” doesn’t sit right with me. If anything, I nearly find it an offensive term to refer to my parents, because I see my mum as my mum and my dad as my dad regardless!)


For anyone who may be reading this, adoptee or not, remember that your feelings and emotions are totally valid. Never let anyone tell you how you are meant to feel; the healing process is not linear. You are loved and you are valid. I am so proud of my roots. Although I have a predominantly Western name and can’t speak my mother tongue of Cantonese, I am Chinese and proud. Please feel free to reach out to me on Instagram @keri.busby. Thank you and all the best!

Comments


bottom of page